Be Your True You

Be your true you… Hmmm… For so many small business owners this can be a challenge. Just because you’re trying to (and going to!) build a successful business doesn’t mean you need to hide who you are outside of the office. Be Your True YouBe your true you.

Yea.

Think back to the days when your paycheck wasn’t dependent solely on the clients you secured, but instead on showing up to an office and sitting in your cubicle all day. Sitting in the interview that got you there, the interviewers weren’t allowed (by law) to ask that many questions about your personal life. They couldn’t ask about your marital status or sexual preference. They couldn’t ask if you had kids or about your religion. You were simply a walking resume, void of any personal qualities until after you were hired.

Unfortunately, the people interviewing you looked the same. They were most likely cold, unpersonable walking versions of their want ad. Get in, ask some questions, shake your hand and get out. You didn’t want to be your true you — You just wanted the job and their money.

But what about now? You’re a small business owner and YOU are the boss. Have you found that you don’t like working with people when they are cold, blank sheets of paper? I have.

Two weeks ago I returned to work after having an extended maternity leave. Yup, I have two-month old twins and I work at home. Their bouncy chairs are right behind my desk and I love it. Two years ago I probably wouldn’t have told you this. Why? I would have wanted your job and your money. “Be your true you” wasn’t a thing for me. And if you were to look at my About Page you wouldn’t have seen any references to my religion either. But that has changed now.

Being my true means that if you can’t accept the fact that I’m a Christian and I thank God for all He has provided me, including my business, then I probably don’t want to work with you.

Am I going to bring God up in our conversations? Probably not. I understand that not everybody has the same beliefs as I do, and I will usually wait for a cue to mention my faith. But I’m not going to hide my God or my family.

So now I challenge you…

Be your true you. Show your True Colors as if Phil Collins was singing his song to you. Don’t be afraid to belt out your own song. Somewhere out there a client is looking for YOU, and he will never find you if you’re hiding behind a cold sheet of paper.

*****

Success Coaching services by Sutton Creative Studios aren’t just focused on seeing your bank account grow tremendously. We’re also focused on seeing you happy with the person you are – Inside AND Out. For more information about our success coaching services please fill out this webform and we will get back to you within 2 business days.

With your success in mind,
Kim Sutton

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business Owner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

