Infusionsoft Aha Moment #1 – Clean Up Your Tags

This is embarrassing. As an Infusionsoft Certified Partner you would think that I would have had my tags on Infusionsoft under more control. Nope, not me. Following another “Aha!” moment this morning, it became abundantly clear that Infusionsoft was telling me “Clean Up Your Tags, Kim!”

Clean Up Your Tags OK, maybe it’s not as bad as it could have been. While you can view up to 500 tags on a single page, I thankfully only had 138. And of the 10 tag categories, I had made… uh…. none. Each and every tag category had been brought in with an imported campaign.

The moment I heard, “Clean Up Your Tags!” and knew I had to follow through on these instructions was when trying to set up the Campaign associated with my “Aha!” moment. The campaign was supposed to be set off by a contact being tagged with a specific tag, however when I went to choose the tag I couldn’t figure out which to use. I had five or six tags with very similar names however I knew their sources were different and they were meant to do one of three different tasks: Inform, sell or follow-up.

If the tags only needed to do one of three different things, then why did I have six different tags? Wouldn’t three suffice?

YES!!!

Quickly skimming through the list of tags I was able to recognize those that had been created for campaigns and I immediately categorized them accordingly. Unfortunately I was left with a bunch of tags that I had no idea why I had them or where they came from. “Now what?” was my thought.

Clean Up Your Tags It took some time to figure out the difference between “good” and “bad” tags, however. Luckily I didn’t have to pick apart every campaign, email and webform to find out where each tag was originating. Did you know that after clicking on “Tags” on the CRM “Settings” page, you can click on an individual tag to see detailed information about a tag? For example, on this “Newsletter Subscriber…” tag, I am able to see that this tag is referenced on three different forms. After clicking the “3 Forms” hyperlink I was shown the list of forms, and by clicking on items on the list, a graphic appeared showing me where in the form the tag was referenced.

I have to admit that I have not yet cleaned out all my tags. It’s been a busy day and I was able to figure out which tags I needed to keep in order to meet my needs. But what about YOU? Is it time to clean up your tags? Whether using them on your blog or in your own Infusionsoft application, it only makes sense to keep your tags cleaned up.

Do you need help cleaning up your tags or your campaigns?  As an Infusionsoft Certified Partner it’s my responsibility to make sure my clients’ Infusionsoft apps are in order – and stay in order. Please click HERE for more information about our Infusionsoft consulting services, and I’ll get back to you very shortly.

With your success in mind,
Kim Sutton

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Infusionsoft, Marketing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

