Why I Register Hashtags

The reason why I register hashtags is to get our name out. Yep, it’s purely a marketing tactic. I can’t deny that I’m doing whatever I can to spread the name of Sutton Creative Studios organically and with minimal paid campaigns.

Harry the Hashtag by Leah GreggYou may be wondering, “You can register hashtags?” Yes, you sure can! If you’re a little behind the curve and are wondering what a hashtag is, it’s simply a keyword or tag in a post on any social media channel. Please contact me if you need more clarification on what a hashtag is.

Back to why I register hashtags…

Before I go any further, I need to say that I don’t pay for any of the sites where you can register a hashtag. I don’t pay for their analytic services, and I don’t pay to enter a definition. As far as I’m concerned, I can track my hashtags using a stream Hootsuite.

This morning I visited Hashtags.org and looked up #solopreneur, #virtualassistant, #entrepreneur, and #WAHM. All were already in the system, however three out of the four did not have definitions. Can you believe that?! The only one that had a definition was #virtualassistant, and I can’t say I especially liked the definition that was there. So I added my own…

Virtual Assistant Definition

While my adding my definition did not delete the previous definition, my definition is now included with the first.

What does it say?

“A virtual assistant is an administrative professional who works remotely for a client. Often hired on a freelance or contractor basis, a virtual assistant can do a variety of tasks including research, document preparation, reporting, client correspondence, calendar scheduling and personal assistance. Does your business need a virtual assistant? Sutton Creative Studios specializes in virtual assistance, graphic design and social media marketing/management. Find out more by visiting our website at http://www.suttoncreativestudios.com.”

Yep, without any shame I added information about our business and how people reading the definition can get in touch.

Think about the market you are in.  Have you developed a list of hashtags you use when posting across your social media channels?

If you haven’t, you really should! Not using hashtags when posting on social media can be equated to not including tags and keywords on your website. How do you expect your work to receive maximum exposure if you’re not including the landmarks for the explorers to find?

Why I register hashtags… It’s simple – if no one was smart enough to do it before me, I might as well snatch the hashtag before someone else does! Does that mean the hashtag belongs to me and/or Sutton Creative Studios? No. Like the first men on the moon, I am simply putting down my flag and letting the world/galaxy know that I was here first.

Do you need help developing the list of hashtags which will provide your and your company maximum exposure? This is the stuff we LOVE doing! Contact us today for more information about our social media marketing and management services.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

