Clearer From a Distance

I’m a work at home mom. My husband is a work at home dad. We get up in the morning, get the older kids off to school, take care of the little one, and get to work. We work all day, take care of the family the whole time, and get back to work (if need be) after the kids go to sleep. In all this activity, however, it’s easy for us to get caught up in the little details of the project we’re working on and lose sight of the big picture. Stepping away to take time for ourselves we realize everything looks clearer from a distance.

Photographers expand horizons in 2010 Army Digital Photography Contest 110311 by familymwrCan you relate?

In the day-to-day hustle and bustle of being a business owner it is easy to put all our focus on the needs of our clients and making money off of them. Unfortunately, the big goals of our own business(es) can be set aside and/or forgotten. I, Kim, and a prime example of this!

Have you ever noticed that I will publish a few blog articles consistently for a time and then they drop off suddenly? It’t not due to shortage of ideas – I have a notebook full of ideas! The drop off is actually caused by me micro-focusing on clients and forgetting what’s important for Sutton Creative Studios.

In the weeks since we moved into our new home/office, I’ve had more time than ever away from my desk and work. I’ve suddenly reclaimed more evening and weekend time for personal tasks than I have given myself since we started our business. Whether this time away was out of necessity (work on our hour) or not doesn’t matter. What does matter is:

Everything is clearer from a distance.

I’ve spent hours and hours pulling dandelions from our yard and during these hours I did a LOT of thinking. Yes, I thought about client work, however I also thought about Sutton Creative Studios and our big picture. Coincidentally, many of the pieces for this big picture started coming together once I stepped away from my desk.  (Stay tuned! We are launching a HUGE program in the fall of 2014!)

As mentioned in a previous article, I have a chiropractor who does great things for me. Even though I feel so much better after visiting (physically), my appointments with him are often cancelled when clients have urgent needs. Last week, however, Dave scheduled my appointment because he knew I was putting it off. Waiting in the lobby for my appointment I managed to lay out a schedule for our upcoming launch AND pull together an editorial calendar for the next three months.

Would I have gotten all this done at my desk? Heck no!

The phone would have been ringing, my email would have been dinging, and, well… No. It wouldn’t have happened.

Are there big goals for your business that you haven’t been focusing on due to focusing on your clients? If so, try stepping away for a bit. Or, hire a virtual assistant to help develop your plan of attack. Everything looks clearer from a distance, and your business deserves to reach its goals, just like your clients’ businesses do.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business Owner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

