Baby Ate My blog

[Tweet “Being the mom of an infant is tough. Being the mom of an infant AND working from home is even tougher.”]

Our babe has quite the personality, and even more has quite the hair. But somehow she has developed a taste for paper. No matter where it is, she will make a bee line for a loose receipt or a stray notebook. And while you probably never thought you would hear this… Baby ate my blog.

Let me backtrack a little bit – In past articles I have mentioned that I never go anywhere without a notebook in my purse/diaper bag/etc. It’s not that I want to take up precious room in my purse with a notebook, it’s just the fact that I get the best ideas when I am away from my computer.

Although Dave has the opinion that nobody except for me should ever be in my purse, baby doesn’t feel the same way. What’s mine is hers, and last night she found my notebook with blog ideas. Before I could do anything, she took a big bite and started chewing.

Don’t worry, folks, baby’s just fine. The past couple months have given us plenty of experience in paper retrieval.

And you know what? No ideas were lost!

No, I didn’t recover the paper and lay it out to dry. That’s a lost cause.

Thanks to a great WordPress plug-in, Editorial Calendar by Stresslimit, I had already gotten all my ideas into the calendar. Even though baby ate my blog ideas, this tool and pre-planning saved the day!

[Tweet “Setting aside time to work on your business’ editorial calendar is a must-do for EVERY business owner.”]

At a minimum your business should be blogging at least once a month. Worried that you won’t sound professional enough? Don’t! They important thing is that you are getting exposure for your company and proving your expertise to the general public. You can’t be at every networking meeting, whether in your town, or across the state or country. You can’t prove yourself to everybody in person. But you can prove yourself to the people who are exposed to and read your blog.

The days of “The dog ate my homework are long gone.” You should be carrying a notebook (or smartphone) to record all your blog ideas. While I transfer all new ideas to my blog drafts at least every other day, you should make a point of transferring your ideas at least once a week.

What should you do when planning your editorial calendar? Here are a few tips:

•  Develop a posting calendar – Do you want to post once a month? Once a week? Figure out your schedule and commit to sticking to it.

Consider a theme – I have seen companies focus on different aspects of their business on a monthly, weekly or daily basis. Think of it as Throwback Thursday on Facebook (#TBT) or Follow Friday (#ff) on Twitter. Do you want to have the same type of post every week on the same day? (*Note: I don’t theme. Period. My ideas are much too varied, and forcing myself to stick to a theme quenches my creativity.)

•  Come up with a title – All my articles start with a title. I usually think of the topic and the title is the first thing that comes to mind.

Set up a draft of the article in the system you are using – and schedule it to post –  When setting up your draft, be sure to include your title and a brief description or introduction in the body. This will allow you to quickly write the article when you get back to it. And scheduling the article to post (for a day in the future) will give you an editorial deadline to meet in the future.

Do you need help getting your blog in order? Don’t use the “baby ate my blog” excuse any longer! Sutton Creative Studios is proud to offer blog management as one of our services. Not only will we help publicize your articles, we will also do the writing when requested. Please feel to contact us with any questions!

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

