Overcoming Email Overload

Let me know if I’m not alone on this… My email can be scary. The first glimpse of my inbox in the morning can totally set the tone for the day. No, not because I’m worried about scary emails from clients (unless they are trying to load 40 hours of work into a single day), but big numbers mean I have to sift through lots of junk to get to the good stuff. Just recently I found a solution for overcoming email overload, and I’d love to share it with you!

The secret is…

Shhh, it’s so good…

Delete the negative; accentuate the positive! by Kate Ter Haar on FlickrThe delete key.

Yea, sorry if you were expecting something bigger and better than that, however my delete key has worked miracles!

I must admit that I’ve seen my inbox nearing 1,700 unread emails in the past. No, this is not the worst I have seen. One client saves EVERYTHING and I’ve seen hers bordering 20,000. Yes, TWENTY THOUSAND unread emails. Boxes like that call for an intervention, don’t you think?

So, last week I realized those emails I’d been classifying as “I’ll read someday” were totally bogging down my inbox. I mean completely bogging them down. Jake, one of our great virtual assistant team members, had tried to help me a couple months ago by adding a sub-folder to my inbox called ‘Kim Take a Look”, however I’ve never touched it.

Well, that’s not the whole truth.

I added more emails to that folder. I never took a look but I added… and added… and added. You get the point.

Anyway, back to last week. I decided it was time to do something drastic.

I clicked the button to sort by sender and ended up performing a mass delete. Once and a while (like maybe three times) I saw an email that I wanted to read, but in the matter of 10 minutes my inbox went from 800 unread emails to 12. Emails from clients were filed in the appropriate folders and the only items remaining in my inbox were those I needed to address immediately.

This morning my inbox was back up to 80. I wasn’t so happy to see the big number, but a quick look and hold of the shift key allowed me to perform another mass delete. I was sad to see the Amazon deal for a local glass-blowing session go, but come on.  Am I going to be able to schedule and do my session before the end of the weekend? NO! (Welcome to Spring sports season in Southwestern Ohio!)

How many unread emails do you have in your email inbox? What is your tactic for overcoming email overload? We want to know! Please leave your feedback in the comments section below!

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Email and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

