Do Something for Yourself… Everyday!

It’s almost 10am and I have yet to do any work for Sutton Creative Studios. Most days I would be on my computer around 7am, checking my email and working on client projects. Today, I did something for myself (and my family), and I encourage you to do the same. In fact, I encourage you to do something for yourself… everyday!

Slow Cooker by Pseph on FlickrIf you’re wondering what I did for myself/us today, it was simple – I prepared dinner (Sausage Gumbo – a first time in our house) and got it into the slow cooker. Simple as it may sound, many days Dave and I are running around hectic until around 4pm when one of us asks the other, “What are you thinking for dinner?” This is followed by a fast trip to the grocery and 99.9% of the time Dave prepares a fabulous meal. (The other .1% of the time, I prepare a… cough cough… mediocre meal… What can I say? I prefer to bake desserts!)

Today I took my time. I cleaned up the kitchen. I chopped the vegetables without cutting my finger. I listened to our favorite radio station and sang to the baby. And again, I took my time.

Kim and Dave Sutton - December 2010When Dave and I began dating I saw (and still see) that he was a completely generous man who would do 1000 things for other people before he would do something for himself. On one of these early days, he was late to his own job so that he could help someone whose car broke down. I would often ask him, “What did you do for yourself today?” His response was usually, “I went to work.”

NOT the answer I wanted to hear.

Today Dave does even more than he did back then. He’s pursuing his Bachelor degree (you’ll be seeing his video games hit the market next year!) and will be earning it in three years instead of four. He works on client projects. He is a baby ninja and is by the baby’s side whenever she needs something. He’s an All-Star Husband and business partner. So when he got invited to raid with our gaming family several nights a week, I couldn’t let him say no. He needed to do something for himself, and only himself.

As an entrepreneur/business owner it is so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of your business, and also the businesses of your clients, and forget to take time out for yourself. To maintain creativity, inspiration and a desire to keep up the hard work you’ve been doing, however, it’s imperative that you do something for yourself… everyday!

I Will by Carnie Lewis on FlickrNo, I’m not talking about taking yourself out for a manicure or to a concert/movie everyday. Even the simple things count.

Looking for examples? Here’s a few:

•  Take a bubble bath
•  Watch your favorite television show
•  Go out for coffee WITHOUT your laptop
•  Read a book for more than 5 minutes
•  Knit (I just picked up a blanket I have neglected finishing for 7 months)
•  Go to the gym
•  Go to the archery range (a favorite of Dave and our boys)
•  Call a friend or family member you haven’t talked to in ages
•  Play a game
•  Knock something off your personal to-do list that you’ve been setting aside for too long

The list goes on and on. This is about YOU and YOU taking a much needed break once a day.

This is not a challenge, this is an order – Do something for yourself… Everyday!

If you’re already engaging in “Me Time” please leave a comment and let us know what you do for YOU!

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business Owner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

