Excuses are for the Weak

I’m THRILLED to say Sutton Creative Studios is in the midst of working on FIVE website projects. This is one of the tasks I LOVE to do, so it’s a very exciting time for me and the company. Along with the excitement, however, there is sometimes stress and difficulty. In my case, yesterday I was trying to take scrolling screenshots of the current version of a site before I began tearing it apart to rebuild it. Snagit, one of my most favorite tools, and I weren’t getting along and it refused to scroll. I knew I had to get around this dilemma, however, because to tell the client “I don’t have the old content because Snagit wasn’t working.” would be a lame excuse. And excuses are for the weak.

Snagit LogoLucky for me, when you purchase Snagit the license allows you to install the program on two computers, and I also have it installed on my laptop. While Windows 8 drives me donkey bonkers, I endured the pain and took all the screenshots I needed and saved them to my Skydrive. No excuses necessary because I was able to work around the situation. Excuses are for the weak, and I NEVER want to give them to my clients.

The second half of 2013 had major life-changing/altering events for my family. In August we welcomed our daughter into the family. (See Working at Home with a Newborn) In September my grandmother died, and three weeks later my brother was killed. Unfortunately during this point in our company we didn’t have a back-up team set up to help with work in our absence. Armed with my laptop I attempted to do work from the recliner (with the newborn) and on the road during our trips back to New York. To say this was difficult would be an understatement. While my excuses were “reasonable”, if there is such a thing, I hated having to give any excuse for work not being completed as previously planned. Excuses are for the weak and I was spewing them.

Smoking laptopThe last month has been a comedy of disasters for one of our clients. Her year-old laptop had a major melt down (literally, the CPU over-heated), her internet went down for days, and her website host had major issues taking down her website and those of several of her clients. Unfortunately for her, the service she hired (for $50/month) hadn’t been backing-up her email for the past year-and-a-half, the recovery of the back-up of her files from the cloud wasn’t working, and the computer repair man told her recovery of files from her laptop’s hard-drive was iffy. And she wasn’t using IMAP for her email, so she lost all emails were her laptop. (See POP vs. IMAP) Luckily, she has Sutton Creative Studios, and I’ve been storing copies of all my emails to a folder in my IMAP email. And I was able to get in touch with clients when her internet was down. Excuses are for the weak, but because she has a back-up system in place in terms of virtual assistance, she was (somewhat) ok.

Sutton Creative Studios no longer offers excuses, only solutions. The close of 2013 saw us bring on two assistants of our own and an IT professionals. Our files are protected and backed-up on the Skydrive, our emails are protected by way of IMAP, and our client work and income are protected by our awesome team.

What systems do you have in place to protect you and your business? Nobody wants to hear excuses, especially your clients and customers. Excuses are for the weak. Leave those to your competitors  and you’ll come out the winner.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

