Getting Past Brain Freeze

People Turn Down Free Publicity by WireLizardMy brain is frozen. Yup, I admit it. I’m temporarily stuck because I have brain freeze. You may be thinking, “Brain freeze?” Mmm hmmm… That’s what I said. I’m in the process of writing another article and in writing one sentence there is a word I want to use but I can’t remember what it is. It’s on the tip of my tongue but I just can’t get it out. This word has had me in a quandary since last night.

What do you do when you have a brain freeze? My suggestion is move on.

Help by devinlynnxNo, it’s not always possible to put the activity you are active in on the back burner. Whenever possible, however, it’s good to take a step back and move on to another activity. In my case, I have a bunch of other articles I am inspired to write, and the words are flowing out of my fingers fluidly and cohesively.

Sutton Creative Studios specializes in social media management, graphic design and virtual assistance. At the beginning of our business, I hesitated to submit proposals for graphic design projects because I was concerned I wouldn’t be inspired enough to produce stellar products. And if I can’t produce quality work I would rather not produce it at all.

Do you ever encounter brain freeze? For Dave and I, many times our brain freeze is the result of trying to remember the name of a song, movie or actor. We’ll be talking, and we have to say, “You, know that person from that movie…” Sometimes we have no clue what the other person is talking about (which is the case with the word I am looking for… I think Dave thinks I’m temporarily insane.)

When I move on though, I usually think of what I was trying to remember at some point later in the day. Occasionally this is at a totally random moment, and I’ll shout out the name while we’re driving down the road. Dave will look at me with his eyebrow raised for a moment, and then he’ll realize why I just shouted that name out. No, I don’t have turrets. My temporary short-term memory loss has just magically cured itself. Thank goodness!

I would love to know what YOU do when your brain temporarily locks up. Do you move on? Do you push the issue and try to force the answer out? Please leave your solution(s) in the comment box below.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

