How We Grew Our Subscriber List 750% in Two Months

Arrows 5 by svilen001Wow, it’s been quite a couple of months. We grew our subscriber list 750% in two months. Yup! TWO MONTHS.

Can you say that?

It was quite ingenious, if I can say no myself. I was redesigning our website (doesn’t it look awesome?) and our boys were quarreling behind me. Sometimes I feel like they are always fighting. Anyway… I told them not to (again), and sure enough they continued.

And it struck me. Tell somebody not to do something and chances are they will.

I remember making blueberry muffins with my mom as a little girl and as she pulled the muffin pans out of the oven she told me not to touch them. I was very young, and although I knew what hot was, I couldn’t say I knew what hot felt like. So I touched the pan.

Lesson learned.

All over our website now you will see buttons with instructions or quirky messages. For instance:

Beep BeepBEEP BEEP: Three short years ago, my awesome husband, the other half of Team Awesome, showed up at my apartment on Christmas Eve. We were newly dating, and just as I received a text message from him saying “Beep Beep” I also heard the “Beep Beep” of a car horn outside. I opened the door to see his car outside, and was so shocked by the (pleasant) surprise that I shut the door right away.

Not the reaction you would have expected, right?

I want to mention that the following three holiday seasons have also been nothing short of surprisingly wonderful. In 2011, Dave proposed. In 2012 we found out we were expecting. And this year, we have our beautiful 4-month-old daughter (in addition to our other beautiful children) to celebrate the holidays with.

Push for CookiesPUSH FOR COOKIES: If you have run out of quirky messages to add to your marketing, sometimes you need to ask for help from unexpected sources. In this case, my 8 and 11 year old sons started helping. In all honesty, some of their suggestions were ridiculous off the wall and way too odd, even for our creative business, but Push for Cookies?

My apologies. No, I am not going to send you a batch of my deliciously wonderful Chocolate Chip or Peanut Butter Blossom cookies. “No cookies for you!”

Are you looking to grow your newsletter subscriber list? We would be happy to discuss your plan of action with you. Contact us today to set up a FREE 30 minute consultation. We shouldn’t be the only ones who can say “We grew our subscriber list 750% in two months.”

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Newsletter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

