Learn and Earn

If your business is anything like ours, you sit at your desk for the majority of the day working on client projects. You chat occasionally with your (AWESOME) co-worker, answer phone calls when they come in, and listen to music to keep yourself entertained. But do you have a desire to Learn and Earn?

“Learn and Earn?” you may be thinking. “What’s that?” Learn and Earn is exactly what it sounds like – learning while earning. In my case, I place my laptop next to my PC, turn on Lynda.com or a webinar, and work while listening. For instance, I am currently going through Lynda.com‘s complete set of Adobe Illustrator tutorials because I know there is a plethora of information I have yet to learn and which will make my job a lot easier and more efficient.

lkr-sm-logoAbout a month ago I signed up for a one-month subscription to Laura Roeder’s LKR Social Media. I have to admit, I only signed up because the first month only cost me $1. (Nevermind the fact that I forgot to cancel my subscription and have recently been charged for… Much more than $1.) Right away I began plowing through the material thinking, “I’m going to make the most out of this $1 because I’m not going to continue past the nearly-free trial.” From the start I learned a tremendous amount about what I was doing wrong on my social media channels. Our followers on Twitter increased immediately, and my LinkedIn profile has been viewed much more than it was two months ago. Both resulted in new client work, so even though we paid for this most recent month of subscription, the amount was covered by the resulting client work.

Learn and Earn doesn’t stop when you shut down your laptop or PC at the end of the day. The information you absorb comes in handy on any relevant client projects down the road. For example, the tips I learned about Twitter and LinkedIn will now be used to help my clients improve their own social media.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Learning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

