Preventing Computer Emergencies

I must first say that no, I did NOT have a computer emergency. This article on preventing computer emergencies serves to help you and new business owners, as computer downtime could mean the loss of a client, if not all your clients.

Blue Screen of Death by Ethan HeinMy primary computer (PC) is not brand new. In fact, it is almost 5 years old. I have a new laptop that was bought this past summer, and just prior to purchasing the laptop a big concern was, “What if my PC goes down?” The thing was/is loaded. Microsoft Office, Adobe’s Creative Suite, Autodesk (AutoCAD) and pictures dating back to the birth of my youngest son in 2005. If I lost everything on the PC I would have been devastated.

I no longer have that concern. I’m not going to lose my Microsoft Office Suite thanks to Office 365, I’m not going to lose my files thanks to the Skydrive and I’m not going to lose the Creative Suite thanks to the Creative Cloud. Yes, these have monthly charges (approximately $70/month), however in the long run the money I’m going to save by not having to repurchase Office and the Creative Suite is FAR greater!

Where is YOUR business calendar based? I use Google Calendar which is synced with all my devices and appointments are taken through our website using Appointy.com. Unlike the days of the Palm Pilot when it was easy to lose all your data, I’m relatively safe. Yes, if my Skydrive or Google Calendar servers crash I’m pretty screwed. Hopefully this won’t happen.

What are YOU doing to protect your business? Are you backing up your data? Are you storing your backups somewhere besides in a box directly next to your desk? Have you uploaded your pictures to Shutterfly.com or another similar site?

What is YOUR backup plan if the computer you use primarily gives you the blue screen of death?

Plan in advance and do your part in preventing computer emergencies.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Computer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

