Check It Twice

Feedback Form by kikashiIn the past week the Sutton Creative Studios website had a MAJOR remodel, and the blog was included in the renovations. If you haven’t checked out the new site yet you really should. During the course of the week, however, I discovered an issue. The contact form wasn’t working. I noticed site visitors were visiting the “Contact Us” page, however we weren’t receiving any correspondence. After setting up the contact form I had failed to check it twice. Ouch.

Santa Claus isn’t the only one who should be checking his lists twice. Business owners, web developers, graphic designers and virtual assistants (to name a few) all need to be check their work twice. Often MAJOR issues will be found during the first round of revisions (so how did I miss the contact form!?), and small, less obvious errors will be picked up the second time around. Simple grammatical errors and misspellings like to instead of too, no instead of know, are often used when a busy business owner or contractor is hurriedly trying to finish a project. I won’t deny that I’ve made some big mistakes while rushing to get a project finished. In my previous profession as an interior architect I accidentally specified the ceiling paint color (white) to be placed on the walls and the wall colors (bright) to go on the ceiling. While this was a simple mistake of putting data into the wrong column, the end result was…  Disastrous. Hey, we all make mistakes.

My paint mistake quickly made me more aware of the need to double check my work. I am much more conscientious of the work I produce for clients, but unfortunately it is the work I do for myself and my own business that sometimes suffers. In my eagerness to satisfy my clients, I put my own double-checking on the back burner and fail to check it twice.

Over the course of the last three weeks I have become much more involved in business groups all over the internet. During my networking I have often visited the sites of my new acquaintances to see what their business is all about (and I’ll admit, to many times scope out the rates they are charging for their services). Not less than a dozen times I have found websites which I have been embarrassed to know are available for public consumption. I have found websites for virtual assistants with major spelling and grammatical errors, websites for graphic designers which have absolutely no design elements, and websites for web developers that…  Weren’t developed.  At this point, being the kind person I am, I have kept my mouth shut and kept going with my day. Honestly, if my competition can’t check it twice I’m not going to tell them to.

If you’re a business owner getting ready to build or launch your site, please assemble a group of your friends and family to check it twice for you. If you don’t want to ask your friends and family, or you don’t trust their willingness to give you their honest opinion, invest a little bit of money and hire a professional to check it twice for you. Sutton Creative Studios can do it for you. We will comb over your pages for spelling and grammatical errors, check to make sure all your buttons are working, and review your site for formatting issues. Why? Because we’re in business to help your business.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Website and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Check It Twice

  1. lizzybeth says:

    Excellent post, Kim, and oh so true. I’ve definitely gotten caught in that trap of not double-checking things, and am trying to keep myself vigilant as I start up my business (and hopefully not become one of those you cringe at!!!). Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

