Friday Freak Out

Expressions of Mads 3 by trolfIf you’ve been reading our blog for a while you know I’m one to stay calm. I normally write articles focused on helping business owners maintain or regain sanity in their crazy circus life. Not tonight. Tonight is a Friday freak out.

Why?

Our website is acting up. I installed a really great new theme however now the site won’t let me use it properly. My computer keeps flashing “Briefly unavailable for scheduled maintenance. Please check back in a minute.” Well, no shit! (Pardon my mouth) I’m the one trying to do some un-scheduled upgrading! So don’t make me wait a minute! I want to do it now!

Briefly unavailable

I’m not used to this Friday freak out thing. Honestly, all my days run into each other now that I’m a successful small business owner. I don’t dread Monday mornings on Sunday night. Actually, I’m a fan of them since it means the kids will be heading to school and I’ll actually be able to work (relatively interrupted). Is that horrible?

Freaking out about our site reminded me of a post I’ve been meaning to write for a while about backing up. No, not backing up your car. I’m talking about backing up your website and your computer. Imagine the Friday Freak Out you will have if your site ever crashes or if you see that dreaded blue screen of death. I’d imagine it would result in a non-relaxing weekend of running all over kingdom come trying to find someone to help you, especially if you haven’t backed up recently.

SkydriveI must mention that I’m not so worried about my computer crashing anymore. Since I began using Office 365 I’ve been keeping all my business files in my Skydrive. Now I can access them from my laptop and my PC. As long as I have saved my progress I can work on an updated version from either device. It’s pretty awesome. And it means no more searching for the thumb drives which always seem to get lost in our desk drawers.

Please, if you do anything this weekend, back up all your important files. Spare yourself from a Friday Freak Out. Even more, go to your local office supply store and buy a fireproof safe for your important paper documents. I would hate to see you lose the files that mean the most to you.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business Owner, Struggles, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Freak Out

  1. bethbrogan says:

    Soooo true! I have learned that lesson after my last laptop showed me the “blue screen of death” and I lost a LOT of important stuff (luckily not work related). Great advice. Thanks, Kim!

Leave a Reply

