Attitude Determines Altitude

attutudeAs an everyday person going about your normal life, the trials and tribulations you are faced with can easily impact your attitude. As a business owner, the ups and downs can impact your mood even further, as they don’t only impact your life, but they impact your business and employees as well. Have you noticed, however, that attitude determines altitude?

That’s right…  Attitude determines altitude. Think about it: With a positive attitude you can accomplish just about anything you set your heart to. With a negative attitude you will surely crash and fail shortly out of the starting gate. What highly successful business owner have you ever heard of having a crappy attitude? I can’t think of anyone.

Attitude Determines Altitude…  Think about it some more…  What’s your attitude right now?

Computer Frustration by channahHave you had a really long, tiring, stressful day? Have your clients vented their frustration with you although it was they who got themselves into their particular predicament? (I swear, sometimes I’m a virtual therapist rather than a virtual designer, and the stress associated with someone venting over something I had no control over is…  Suffocating…) Are you sitting at our desk shaking your head and debating whether or not to even look at your email?

Or are you embracing the fact that you ARE a business owner, despite all its challenges? Are you looking forward to tomorrow’s round of client therapy sessions, just because, hey, you have a client! Are you looking forward to reaching the goals you set for yourself no matter what obstacles you face?

I can’t deny for a second that this afternoon was emotionally exhausting. I sat at my desk staring at my monitor for 10 minutes after I finished one particularly trying phone call. I was numb. I’m not a violent person but damn, I wanted to kick and pound and have a three-year old temper tantrum. But I didn’t.

I stewed and pouted for a half hour, (not a pretty site at all) brushed my teeth to get the bitter taste of resentment out of my mouth, and decided to get back to work. I have a lifetime’s work of goals to achieve, and sitting here pouting isn’t going to help.

Orion NebulaAttitude Determines Altitude and I want to go all the way to the sun and back. I’m going to tell myself this was a wonderful day because I’m alive and I’m in the company of my family whom I love with my whole heart.

And I’m going to shoot for the stars.

I’ll send you a postcard once I get there.

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Business, Business Owner, Clients, Communication, Customers, Experience, Family, Goals, Struggles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

