Favorite Things: Fall 2013

It doesn’t matter whether or not you are a business owner – I’m pretty confident you come in contact with new tools and services on a daily basis. If you’re like me you like to read reviews before you invest time and/or money on new products. Following are my thoughts on a few new (to me at least) products I’ve encountered in the past three months and my favorite things about them.

Windows8Windows 8
Dave bought me a new laptop this summer while I was pregnant with our daughter and it is equipped with Windows 8. My PC has Windows Vista. I am not a fan of 8. Here are some reasons why…

  • Doesn’t come with a video player for watching DVD’s or recorded video (like all the video we recorded at the hospital)
  • Window hopping – Not window shopping, mind you! If I put my mouse on the “wrong” part of the screen other windows pop up! I’m still trying to remember where these spots are but come on! If I want that other window open, I’ll do it myself!
  • Installation Issues – Why is it that my old PC can install more than one program at a time and my brand new laptop can’t?

Microsoft Office 365Office 365 and Skydrive

OK, I don’t like Windows 8, however I needed the Microsoft Office Suite on my laptop. I discovered that my best option was Office 365. With the ability to install the latest versions of all the Office programs on up to two computers for a low monthly price, I couldn’t pass up this deal! Not only did I not have to pay a large sum up front for the suite, I won’t have to worry about paying to upgrade to new versions in the future!

Besides all of the above, I now also have Skydrive, which allows me to store all work documents in the cloud and access them from both my PC and laptop. To say the least, this has been awesome. Now I don’t need to email myself files or use a thumb drive. My only problem is remembering to save and close the file on one computer before trying to open it on the other

Creative CloudAdobe Creative Cloud

After getting Office 365 set up on the laptop I started to think about what would happen if the PC bit the dust. I had Adobe’s CS4, which is 5+ years old and a few versions behind current. The Creative Suite is a VERY expensive package, and an expenditure I wouldn’t want to make in the near future.

Thankfully, Adobe’s Creative Cloud subscription program prevents me from having to do so. For a low monthly fee, I now have access to ALL the Creative Suite programs, even those which are FAR over my head.

My only problem with the Creative Cloud is that my fabulous new laptop is not allowing it to install. Thankfully I found a phone number for Adobe’s Customer Service which I called today (and have now been on the line with for 65 minutes) and they are trying to fix it remotely. I’m hoping this issue will be resolved…  Soon.  In the meantime, I’ve been enjoying using Illustrator CS6 and Photoshop CS6 on my PC.

iPhoneiPhone

I resisted buying an iPhone for how many years? Too many! No. I didn’t get the latest and greatest model (I got an iPhone 4) but Sprint had the 4s for FREE. I feel like I’ve stolen an awesome phone! It has been much easier to learn than my Android was and unlike with my android, every work email is coming in!

(I should also mention that I started writing this article on my iPhone, which allowed me to set up an app to access all my blogs even though they are in multiple accounts)

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture. In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting and writing.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “Top 10 Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business, Creativity, Money, Spending, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

