The Evolution of My Planners

(From Kim’s Perspective)

When I graduated college more than a decade ago, my mom bought me a leather, business sized portfolio.  Made of beautiful, rich black leather, I…  Honestly had no idea what to do with it.  It sat in my desk for a few years (sorry, Mom) until I began interviewing in supposed greener pastures.

Leather portfolio, currently available at Franklin Planner

My first job immediately out of college was really my first introduction to electronic planners.  Sitting at the weekly, Wednesday morning staff meetings, co-workers all around me would sit clicking on their Palm Pilots with their special pens.  At some point during my first year there, I acquired a Palm Pilot of my own.  A hand-me-down from my (ex) father-in-law, the most action it ever saw was games of brick breacker on my train ride from Manhattan to Mt. Vernon.

Seven years later I started with a new architectural firm in Ohio.  During that course of time, the Blackberry had swept over the market.  Principals and project managers would type notes continuously into their Blackberries all through meetings, and I could expect to have an email in my box from them by the time we were back in the office.

Being too low on the totem pole to be awarded a Blackberry during this time, and too poor to afford the cost of the device and data plan, all of my phone numbers, emails, and to-do list items were stored in Outlook.  The one time my computer crashed I was screwed.  From then on I had  binders where I kept printed out emails, business cards and contact lists in case anything happened to my computer again.

Four years later, I found myself suddenly unemployed, trying to start my own interior business (before I realized that wasn’t where my passion truly lied), and in the possession of a Blackberry.  Still in possession of my business card file as well as a dependable home computer, however, this Blackberry was never used to its full potential.  Sure, it taught my son how to play Brick Breaker, but that was about the most complex interaction we ever had with it.

A few more years and another cell phone later, I found myself once again with a Blackberry.  This time it was out of need rather than trying to do as everyone else did.  Newly a single-mom with little money to spend on a phone, much less internet, I had to make the most of what little I had.  Thus, my organization, communication and entertainment all came from a little purple square not much bigger than the palm of my hand.

Suddenly, I felt all grown up, or if not grown up, technologically sufficient.  “Let me shoot you an email!”, or “Hey!  Look at what I found on Facebook!” could finally come out of my mouth in conversation, and I didn’t have to wait until I got home.

Just when I had gotten comfortable using my Blackberry, my job situation changed again.  Walking into my first staff meeting, I was surrounded by *gasp* paper planners!  Franklin Planner binders were everywhere!  But as I sat in these meetings over the following months, I became…  Jealous.  These guys could write notes quickly without having to worry about their fingernails or stubby fingers typing on the wrong tiny key.  They had their notes and calendars all in one place and they could easily flip back and see what happened in the past.  And most importantly, if the internet or power went down, they still had access to a lot of information.  Awesome.

So here I am, with an awesome Android phone on my right, my Franklin Planner on my left, and a Kindle in my purse.  I may have finally caught up with the times, but I’ve learned to appreciate products of the past as well.  And don’t tell my husband, however.  His planner is on its way.

Is your planner looking terribly afraid that you’re going to add more tasks?  Do you know that you’re not going to be able to accomplish them?  Let Sutton Creative Studios go to work for you!  Contact us to see what we can do to make you AND your clients happy!

*****

Kim SuttonKim Sutton is the Managing Partner and Chief Everything Officer of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios.  She is a graduate of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Interior Architecture.

An avid reader and passionate learner, Kim is constantly researching, studying and developing business improvement strategies. When it comes to client work, Kim especially enjoys helping her clients develop innovative marketing strategies and sales funnels, particularly when they are using Infusionsoft to automate all the heavy lifting. To find out how you can further develop your company’s marketing and automation strategies schedule a 1-hour Business Boost Strategy Session by clicking here.

In her free-time, Kim cherishes the time she gets to spend with her husband, Dave (her business partner), and five children. She also enjoys reading, knitting, writing and playing video games.

Get a copy of Kim’s FREE guide, “10 Top Tools for Small Businesses” by clicking here.

About Kim Sutton

Kim is the CEO of The Sutton Companies, including Sutton Strategic Solutions and Sutton Creative Studios. She is married to her best friend and soul mate, Dave, and together they have six children.
This entry was posted in Business, Organization, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

