Zero to Seventy-Five in Three Months

**Please note! Our blog has moved to a new location! Please read and subscribe here.**

September 4, 2012: That’s the day Dave and I started our business. Little did we know that we would have a full client load three months later.

Keep in mind that we are extremely honest individuals, so don’t let it shock you when I say we only started the business as a way to make a little bit of extra money.  We registered with a couple freelance websites, and shortly thereafter picked up a couple clients.  It was nice!  I was still working my day job full-time, and we were able to do clients’ tasks during the day (Dave) and at night (me).

Then it happened.  I edited our proposal format to make it intriguing, interesting and humourous, put out a couple more proposals, and BAM!  Within a couple of weeks we were looking at a full-time client load!  To say the least, it was…  Shocking!  I must admit, I panicked!  How was I going to be able to do my work during the day AND keep our clients happy with the work I needed to do at night?

As the beginning of our freelance career, Dave and I and chatted quite often about how nice it would be to work together, side-by-side, everyday.  We set a goal for ourselves, that by next June (2013), we would be doing just that.  However, just before Thanksgiving, that dream became a reality.  The Monday after Thanksgiving, I announced to my employer that I would be reducing my hours to part-time, and would only be staying until my replacement was found and trained.

I don’t believe in burning bridges, and neither does Dave.  Our address books, cell phones and Facebook friends lists are filled with people we have met over the course of our lives and still remain in contact with.  Several of our clients, while they were aware of my employment situation upon hiring us, still continue to ask: “When will you be full-time?”

I’ve got news for you…  Without even looking at Dave’s hours, I’ve been full-time for weeks now.  While our clients may turn Skype off at 5pm, Dave and I are up until 3am making sure we are doing the best work we can for every single client.

You, our clients, satisfaction, is OUR PASSION.  It is because of you that we have added new skills and programs to our knowledge base every day.  And you know what?  We’re thankful for that!  And so are Amazon.com and our local bookstore, as they helping us hone our skills when you so frequently ask, “Do you know how to do…?”

If our answer is negative, we respond, “No we don’t, but for you, on our own time, we will learn!”

Thank you to our clients, as challenging, hilarious, stressful, passionate, and generous as you are, for making Sutton Creative Studios our full time reality.  For all this, we we will forever hold a special place in our hearts for you as you made our dreams come true.

XO,

Kim Sutton

About suttoncreativestudios

Kim and her husband, Dave, happily work side-by-side every day at Sutton Creative Studios. A full-service administrative and graphic design firm, the fun and excitement never stops in this shop!
This entry was posted in Advertising, Business, Business Owner, Clients, Communication, Dave, Passion, Research, Team Awesome, Time and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

